Florida is in the minority of states when it comes to auto-accident insurance coverage. Namely, it is a no-fault system: The state mandates that people carry personal injury protection coverage. These policies are intended to allow you to take responsibility for the costs of any medical emergencies you might have, regardless of who is at fault.

What this means to you depends on your case. Below are some of the questions we commonly encounter here at PhysMed. Please keep in mind that we provide personalized support to each patient on a case-by-case basis — but you may find this general information useful as a starting point.

insurance information

How Much Does PIP Cover?

The minimum PIP coverage required in Florida is $10,000. Your policy might be different, so you should check your paperwork or contact your provider to obtain more detailed information. Generally speaking, that $10,000 would cover 80% of the costs associated with your injury until the funds were exhausted.

It is worth noting here that these figures apply to emergency medical conditions. In general terms, state law defines an EMC as a serious injury that could disable you or drastically affect your health. Physicians and chiropractors can determine whether your injury qualifies, but many auto injuries do qualify for this classification.

Do I Need the Other Driver’s Insurance Information?

After your immediate medical needs are addressed, it is usually a good idea to get as much information about the accident as possible. This could include insurance and contact information from anyone else involved in the collision. Contact information for witnesses could also be useful in some cases. However, Florida’s no-fault insurance coverage is provided by your own insurer.

Which Doctors Accept PIP?

PIP coverage usually works a little differently than the health insurance policies you may be more accustomed to. That leads to two important considerations you should make when selecting doctors for auto injuries — beyond their willingness to perform a detailed individual analysis of your case and provide effective care.

First, the caregiver should be qualified to determine whether you have an emergency medical condition. In Florida, this could mean an emergency room doctor, a primary care physician, or a chiropractor. Second, your medical providers should understand the legal and insurance consequences of the EMC definition. This understanding should allow them to support you during your insurance issues and simplify the process for you.

What Is the No-Fault Insurance Time Limit?

According to Florida law, you have 14 days after an accident to see a doctor. Seeking medical care within this time should take it much easier for you to make the most of your PIP coverage. Timely professional attention could also speed your recovery and prevent aggravation of your injury.

Please do not hesitate to reach out for more information on this or other subjects related to injuries. Call (941) 921-4884 today to schedule a consultation.

Fill out our form to get in touch

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Or contact us via these options

(941) 921-4884

Email: info@physmed.com

Please call for Walk-ins and same day
appointments!

Sarasota Locations

2601 Cattlemen Road, Suite 400
Sarasota, FL 34232

Ph: (941) 921-4884
Fax: (941) 921-4883

Bradenton Location

401 Manatee Ave. E
Bradenton, FL 34208

Ph: (941) 921-4884
Fax: (941) 921-4883

Venice Location

1491 East Venice Avenue
Venice, FL 34292

Ph: (941) 921-4884
Fax: (941) 921-4883

Port Charlotte Location

4161 Tamiami Tr.
Suite 802
Port Charlotte, FL 33952

Ph: (941) 921-4884
Fax: (941) 921-4883

Fort Myers Locations

12540 World Plaza Lane
Suite 44
Fort Myers, FL 33907

Ph: (941) 921-4884
Fax: (941) 921-4883

St. Petersburg Location

6450 38th Ave North
Suite 330
St. Petersburg, FL 33710

Ph: (941) 921-4884
Fax: (941) 921-4883

Naples Location

9975 Tamiami Trail North
Suite 4
Naples, FL 34108

Ph: (941) 921-4884
Fax: (941) 921-4883