It is important to act quickly after a violent auto collision. Proper, prompt attention has the potential to greatly reduce the severity of your injuries and prevent you from unintentionally making things worse. In Florida, you may also want to consider the legal aspect: the 14-day rule for personal injury protection coverage. Please seek out an attorney if you need advice about a specific injury. In the meantime, this article should provide some general information on the topic.

What Is Florida PIP?

PIP, as mentioned above, stands for “personal injury protection.” The law requires Florida drivers to take responsibility for their own injuries, most commonly in the form of carrying this special type of insurance policy. Benefits from these plans are available to all parties — regardless of who is at fault for the accident.

What Is the 14-Day Rule?

Florida’s 14-day rule comes from statute 627.736, a law that governs no-fault insurance. It states, with some conditions and exceptions, that you have 14 days to seek medical attention if you want to claim personal injury protection benefits.

Do You Need To Visit the Emergency Room After an Accident?

Getting immediate medical attention after a collision could improve your prognosis. It would also give emergency room staff an opportunity to assess your injuries and decide if you had an emergency medical condition. Aside from the ER doctors, various types of medical professionals have the authority to make this diagnosis. In any case, please consider your health first if there is any doubt.

What Is an Emergency Medical Condition?

“Emergency medical condition” is a legal term in Florida. It is one of the qualifying factors for receiving the full amount of no-fault insurance coverage. Generally, it could be any condition that debilitates you or could result in serious consequences to your physical well-being.

How Long Do You Have To Get Medical Attention?

The law has a 14-day limit for seeking medical attention in most cases. However, your health might not wait that long — your immediate response is critically important. If you fear you may be injured, please seek help at once.

Any change of condition after an accident is something you should have assessed by a certified professional. Even if it is just a faint suspicion, it is probably wise to seek medical attention either the day of the accident or the next day or two, at the latest.

How Much Does PIP Cover?

Your insurance policy might be different, but the minimum coverage amount in Florida is $10,000. Up to this limit, your insurer would pay 80% of qualifying losses related to emergency medical conditions.

We understand if dealing with insurance is not your first priority when you are injured, but these financial and legal concerns could be an aspect of your recovery. At PhysMed, we will do everything we can to support you as you navigate this process. Please call us at (941) 921-4884 for any questions you might have about injuries or these related topics.

Fill out our form to get in touch

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Or contact us via these options

(941) 921-4884


Please call for Walk-ins and same day

Sarasota Locations

2601 Cattlemen Road, Suite 400
Sarasota, FL 34232

Ph: (941) 921-4884
Fax: (941) 921-4883

Bradenton Location

401 Manatee Ave. E
Bradenton, FL 34208

Ph: (941) 921-4884
Fax: (941) 921-4883

Venice Location

1491 East Venice Avenue
Venice, FL 34292

Ph: (941) 921-4884
Fax: (941) 921-4883

Port Charlotte Location

4161 Tamiami Tr.
Suite 802
Port Charlotte, FL 33952

Ph: (941) 921-4884
Fax: (941) 921-4883

Fort Myers Locations

12540 World Plaza Lane
Suite 44
Fort Myers, FL 33907

Ph: (941) 921-4884
Fax: (941) 921-4883

St. Petersburg Location

6450 38th Ave North
Suite 330
St. Petersburg, FL 33710

Ph: (941) 921-4884
Fax: (941) 921-4883

Naples Location

9975 Tamiami Trail North
Suite 4
Naples, FL 34108

Ph: (941) 921-4884
Fax: (941) 921-4883